The Avengers. No,not those…

The Original Avengers. The British version. The TV version. If you don´t know what I´m talking about, do yourself  a favor and look it up!

When I was a child, I wanted so much to be Emma Peel. ( Diana Rigg version, of course–I´ll settle for no other.) John Steed was a great character, but there was no topping the enigmatic, yet pragmatic Mrs. Peel. She was great with a gun, with the karate chops, and she knew how to use a sword! But more importantly she knew how to take care of herself. Se knew how to kick some serious butt and took no sh*t from any man.

I loved that she wasn´t a Pollyanna and certainly didn´t need any saving. In fact, she was usually the one that had to fight off the baddies while Steed stood around looking gentlemanly like. ( I might be biast).

(Here´s a taste.This video does not belong to me. I found it on youtube. It´s by garryentropy and it´s absolutely marvelous!)

She was strong, gutsy, athletic, smart, and sexy. No one wore the catsuit better than her.(mind you this was the sixties!) She was, in short, absolutely adorable!

And she had that certain mystery about her. I mean, she was known as Mrs. Peel, yet I don´t recall ever seeing Mr. Peel.

Anyway, all this because I just realized that I´ve modeled one of my characters after her. She´s been in my Psyche so long that I had to finally let her out!

Let me know in the comments if you too are a fan.

Leave a Reply

